Book Now
Then and Now

Alta Lodge

Alta Lodge has been in operation for over 80 years. The Lodge was built by the Denver & Rio Grande Railroad Company, and opened on November 29, 1940 as Alta’s first ski hotel. Over the years, we have hosted actor Errol Flynn, author William F. Buckley, Jr., economist Milton Friedman, many political figures, and many guests who come back year after year to enjoy the great skiing and our intimate, relaxed, atmosphere.

The Original Lodge building consisted of 20 small rooms, many of which are still in use. Over the years, the Levitt family added to our original 1940 structure serveral times: in 1963-64 with the Middle Wing (the 20s, 30s and 40s hallways), and then again in 1968, with the addition of the East Wing (the 100s and 200s). Designed by architect John Sugden, who had studied under famed Bauhaus architect Mies van der Rohe, these renovations brought mid-century modernism to Alta. To this day, the simple, dramatic walls of glass in these rooms allow for stunning views and a natural mountain experience. Later additions include the Pools building, the Deck Room, and the expanded Dining Room, with views of Mt. Superior and lower Little Cottonwood Canyon.

Over the years, Alta Lodge has grown from 12 guest rooms to 57, some with private balconies and even fireplaces. We’ve added some luxury touches, and in a nod to 21st-century sensibilities, we’ve also added high-speed WiFi. Some things don’t change though – there still are no televisions in our lodging rooms; however, great food, personal service, and the authentic community spirit of Alta remain alive and well in the Lodge. 

We are grateful to welcome back over 75% of our lodging guests every winter.